Awards and Honours

Top 2% Scientists from India

three from CES

A new list of 2% of top scientists worldwide has identified 1,494 scientists in India, out of which 3 are from Centre for Ecological Sciences [Raghavendra Gadagkar (Subject: Entomology), Raman Sukumar (Subject: Ecology), Ramachandra T.V. (Subject: Energy)], Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bengaluru. The prestigious list was prepared by Stanford University and published in the journal PLOS Biology.

Prof. Borges to receive Alumni Award for Excellence in Research for Science

Council of the Institute in its meeting held on 21 December 2019, has been pleased to confer Alumni Award for Excellence in Research for Science for the year 2020, jointly on Prof. Borges and Prof. E. Arunan, Dept. of Inorganic & Physical Chemistry. The President of the Court of the Institute will formally present the award at the meeting of the Court, scheduled to be held on Friday, the 13 March 2020, in the Faculty Hall of the Institute.

Prof Guy Theraulaz visits CES as IISc Infosys Chair Professor

Prof Guy

Prof Guy Theraulaz, a world leader in the field of collective behaviour, visited CES as IISc Infosys Chair Professor from 4th Sept 2019 to 23rd Sept 2019. Prof Theraulaz is currently a senior research fellow at the National Center for Scientific Research CNRS). He is also a leading researcher in the field of swarm intelligence, primarily studying social insects but also distributed algorithms, e.g. for collective robotics, directly inspired by nature.

Maria Thaker awarded Priti Shankar Teaching Award by IISc

CES congratulates Dr Maria Thaker for receiving the 2018 Professor Priti Shankar Teaching Award for Assistant Professors for Science. She received the award on 15 March 2019, during the meeting of the Court of IISc.

Maria currently teaches an Experiments in Ecology course for undergraduate Biology majors, co-teaches Animal Behaviour for post-graduate students, and conducts an annual workshop in Academic Ethics at CES and in several Institutes around the country.  

Pratibha Yadav awarded “Post-Doctoral Fellowship for outstanding Post-Doctoral Researchers from China & India”

Dr Pratibha Yadav, an alumnus of CES who did her PhD with Prof Renee Borges, has been awarded “Post-Doctoral Fellowship for outstanding Post-Doctoral Researchers from China & India” (by the Planning and Budgeting Committee, Council for Higher Education in Israel). Pratibha will take up this fellowship (starting Oct' 2019) to continue her postdoctoral research at the Tel Aviv University where she joined in Oct’ 2018 through another fellowship that she was awarded by the Sagol School of Neuroscience, Tel Aviv University.

Sanjeeta Sharma Pokharel awarded Nepal's prestigious Nepal Bidya Bhushan Padak.

Nepal President's award to Sanjeeta

Dr. Sanjeeta Sharma Pokharel, a CES alumnus, has been awarded one of Nepal's prestigious honours "Nepal Bidya Bhushan Padak" (KA category, year 2018) for her PhD thesis work. The award was given by the President of Nepal, Bidya Devi Bhandari on the occasion of the National Education Day and International Literacy Day, on behalf of the Government of Nepal (Ministry of Science and Technology).

Anindita Brahma wins Fulbright-Nehru and Marie Curie fellowships

We are delighted that Dr Anindita Brahma, an alumnus of CES who did her PhD with Prof Raghavendra Gadagkar, has been awarded two prestigious fellowships: Marie Curie fellowship (Europe) and Fulbright-Nehru fellowship (US).

She has chosen to take up the Fulbright fellowship for her postdoctoral research work. She will be working with Dr Daniel J.C. Kronauer, The Rockefeller University, New York on a project titled "Modulators of the route towards social parasitism: a study with the clonal raider ant Ooceraea biri"

Jaideep Joshi awarded a prestigious Marie Curie fellowship

We are delighted that Dr Jaideep Joshi, an alumnus of CES who did his PhD with Prof Vishwesha Guttal, has been awarded a prestigious Marie Curie fellowship.

Jaideep will be pursuing his postdoctoral research in Austria/UK, mentored by Prof Ulf Dieckmann (IIASA, Vienna, Austria) and Prof Iain Colin Prentice (Imperial College London). His research topic is “Assessing the global vulnerability of forests to drought using Plant Functional Trait Evolution (Plant-FATE)”.